Dungeon Master Assistance

Where anyone over 18 can share thoughts and ideas on RPGs.

D&D 5E – Quick Reference – Combat

Combat-main_FullThe combat rules for 5th Edition Dungeons and Dragons are much simpler than previous editions. This is a quick reference guide to the new rules. Refer to the complete rules (which can be downloaded for free here) for more detailed information. This is my own interpretation of those rules. Refer to the DM notes at the end for my house rules.

Each round represents 6 seconds in the game world. Anything a person could reasonably do in 6 seconds, your character can do in 1 round.

Each round, during your turn, you can move and take one action.

• You don’t have to move, but if you choose to, you can move a distance up to your speed. You can move before or after you take an action, or you can move first, take an action, and then move again, as long as the total distance moved doesn’t exceed your speed.
• You don’t have to take an action during your turn, but if you choose to, you can attempt to do anything that could be accomplished in 6 seconds or less. The most common action taken in combat is the attack action. See below for a list of actions that can be performed in combat.
• If your action permits multiple attacks, you can move between attacks so long as you haven’t used all of your move distance based on your speed.
• Your move can include jumping onto or off of things, jumping over things, climbing walls or ropes, swinging on ropes or chandeliers, or moving in any way that your character is capable of such as swimming or flying for example.

You can interact with one object as part of either your move or your action.

You can manipulate the object in an uncomplicated way. Some examples include:
•    Draw or sheath a weapon
•    Draw Two One-Handed Weapons [You can normally draw only 1 weapon for free on your turn. Dual Wielder lets you draw 2.]
•    Transfer an item from one hand to the other
•    Load a crossbow
•    Retrieve or put away a stored item*
•    Pick up an item
•    Move an object
•    Open a chest
•    Open a door
* You may only retrieve an item if it was stowed for easy access. If you must dig through your backpack to find something inside, it may require use of an action to retrieve it.
Doing more than one of these things requires the use of an action.

As part of your move or your action, you can do things that take little or no time and don’t interfere with your movement.

These activities take very little time, though there may be limits to the number you can perform in a turn. Examples include:
•    Drawing ammunition for use with a ranged weapon (such as arrows, bolts, sling bullets, or shuriken).
•    Dropping an item to your feet or within 5 feet of your current location.
•    Dropping to a prone position. (Standing up from prone, however, takes half of your movement for the turn.)
•    Speaking (you can always speak, even when it isn’t your turn – within reason.)

You may be able to take an additional, bonus action.

• A special ability, spell, or other feature of the game may allow you to do something as a bonus action. You are only allowed one bonus action in a round.
•    Example: If you have a short sword in one hand and dagger in the other, after using your action to attack with the sword, you can use a bonus action to attack with the dagger (refer to the rules on two-weapon fighting.)

You are allowed one reaction each round.

A reaction is an action that is triggered by an external event.

• A special ability, spell, or other feature of the game may allow you to react to a specific triggering event.
• If an opponent attempts to move past you or attacks you and then attempts to move away, you get a free swing at him. This is called an opportunity attack, and it is the most common reaction.
• Another example would be a wizard’s feather fall spell that is triggered when the wizard is pushed over a cliff, or steps into a pit trap.
• Your reaction does not have to occur during your turn, but can occur at any time during the round. If it occurs during another’s turn, his turn is suspended until your reaction is resolved.


If surprised, you lose your turn for the first round of combat. After your turn, you are no longer surprised so you can use a reaction after your turn has passed, even during the remainder of the first round.

Actions in Combat

During your turn in a combat round, you can perform any one of the following actions.


You can make one melee or ranged attack. Some features may allow you to make more than one attack with this action.

Cast a Spell

You can cast any spell that you are capable of casting that has a listed casting time of one action.

Note regarding components: Retrieving the required material (M) component from a pocket or pouch is included in the “Cast a Spell” action. If the spell also has a somatic (S) component, you can perform the required hand gestures while holding the material component in that same hand. Therefore, if you are holding two weapons, or a weapon and a shield, at the beginning of your turn, you can sheath one weapon (refer to “interact with one object” above) and then draw the material component and cast the spell all in the same round. [A material component is not consumed with the casting of the spell, unless the spell description specifically says that it is.]


Rather than performing any other action, you spend the entire round moving. This allows you to move twice as far this round. It is effectively a double move action. [You use your dash action to move your speed then use your move to go that distance again.]


If you start the round within 5 feet of an opponent that can see you, you can use this action to move away from him without provoking an opportunity attack. [The disengage action does not include a move. You use the disengage action to avoid an opportunity attack while you use your move to travel up to your speed.]


This is a total defense action. You spend the round trying to avoid being hit. Until the start of your next turn, any attack roll made against you has disadvantage if you can see the attacker, and you make Dexterity saving throws with advantage.


You can use your action to help an ally attack an opponent within 5 feet of you. You don’t make an attack yourself, but when your friend attacks, his first attack roll is made with advantage.
Or you can help him with any other task. If you are in position to do so, and your assistance could reasonably be seen to be of help, he will gain advantage on his ability check to accomplish the task.


The act of hiding requires an action to attempt. You must make a Dexterity (Stealth) check to see if you successfully hide from your opponents.
Additional information regarding the hide action here: Stealth and Hiding


Rather than taking and action during your turn, you wait for some specific event and then take your action as a reaction. You can still move up to the distance indicated by your move rate, but you can take no other action this round. You must specify two things –
1) What the triggering event will be.
This can be anything you think might happen that you can observe. If the event occurs before the start of your turn on the next round you can perform your readied action at that time. Some examples could be: If the sniper sticks his head up, If more Orcs come around the corner, If the rope brakes, If the water level rises, If the evil magic user starts to cast a spell, If the guard spots the thief, If the prisoner attempts to escape.
2) What action you will take.
This can be any of the combat actions.
Note that this action will be a reaction and you can only have one reaction per round. This means that if you take another reaction, you lose your readied action. Conversely, if you use your readied action you can have no other reactions this round.
• If the triggering event occurs, you can choose to not take your readied action.
• If you choose Dash as a readied action, you can move up to your move rate.
• If you choose Cast a Spell as a readied action, you cast the spell during your turn but hold off on releasing the energy of the spell until the triggering event occurs. You must concentrate to hold the spell’s energy. Anything that breaks your concentration before the final release of the spell’s energy results in the loss of the spell. If the triggering event doesn’t occur this round, you can continue to hold the spell with continued concentration into the following round, or you can cast it as an action on your next turn, or you can lose it.


You can use your action to attempt to find something. The DM might require you to make a Wisdom (Perception) check or an Intelligence (Investigation) check.

Use an Object

An object may require an action for you to use it, or you may need to use this action to interact with more than one object in a round.

Improvised Action

There are many more things that a combatant could do during a round than can be accounted for in the above actions. When you want to attempt something that is not covered by any of the above actions, you can use an improvised action.

Examples of an improvised action:

“I want to pull the rug out from under that guy.”
“I want to jump on the monster and attack him with my sword while I ride on to his back.”
“I want to talk them into surrendering.”
“I want to break that flask the bad guy is holding.” (attack an object)
“I want to slide down the stairs on my shield while I fire arrows at the enemy.”
“I want to intimidate then into running away.”
“I want to grab that piece of folded parchment that is sticking out of his vest pocket.”
“I want to slide under the table and stab that guy in his ankle with my dagger.”
“I want to sheath my sword and walk up to that guy and tweak his nose.”
“I want to hit that rope with my arrow in such a way as to cut the rope and let the body that is hanging from it fall to the ground.”
“I want to disarm my opponent.” (This could be a called shot to the hand, shattering an opponent’s weapon, severing a spear shaft, entangling a sword arm, or using the flat of a blade to smack a weapon from an enemy’s hand.)
“I want to push him into the pit.” (Use the rules for “Shoving a Creature” – this could include shield bashes, tackles, bull rushes, overruns, tables hurled into enemies, doors smashed into opponents on the other side, and so on. Generally speaking, this could be any attempt to use brute strength to move an opponent. Any attempt to shove creatures off a nearby cliff, through a railing, out a chapel’s stained-glass window, and so on will allow the creature a dexterity save.)
“I want to trip that guy.” (This could be any attempt to knock an enemy off its feet. Whether it’s hooking an enemy’s leg, stabbing a kneecap, knocking an opponent off-balance, hurling an enemy away, sweeping an enemy’s legs, or some other maneuver, this improvised action would allow the warrior to knock an enemy prone.)

The following rules apply to improvised actions:
1. You must explain the improvised action to the DM. The DM may rule that what you want to do will require more than one round, or that it is simply impossible (you can’t fire an arrow into the sky and hit the moon). He may ask you to be more specific regarding the action you want to take and how the action will achieve the results you want.
2. The improvised action can also include all or part of your move. Successfully jumping on – or diving into a creature will give you advantage on the attack roll. A failed attempt results in your move stopping at the point there the attack takes place and may grant your opponent an advantage on his next attack against you.
3. To perform the improvised action the DM will normally have you make an ability check. The DM will assign an appropriate difficulty class and will explain possible consequences if the attempted action fails. For example, if you attempt to jump off of the balcony onto the monster in the center of the room and miss you may end up prone.

Most improvised actions can be resolved as simple contests.
Player: “I want to try to [describes some form of physical contest other than an attack roll].”
DM: “Okay, make a Strength (Athletics) check.”
DM compares result to opponent’s Strength (Athletics) or Dexterity (Acrobatics) check, perhaps giving someone advantage or disadvantage.

DM Notes: Some of the information above deviates somewhat from the official rules. You can consider these to be my House Rules.
Retrieving a stored Item – This should only be allowed as part of your move or action if you don’t have to dig through your backpack to find it.
Speaking – Should be allowed at any time
Disengage – I will only allow this action if you are currently engaged in combat and want to withdraw without provoking an opportunity attack.
Help – It only makes logical sense to be able to help another if there is some action that you could take that might possibly be of help to him.
Improvised action – I got rather wordy here, but I think these should be encouraged.


24 responses to “D&D 5E – Quick Reference – Combat

  1. Anonymous January 16, 2016 at 8:02 pm

    “you can always speak, even when it isn’t your turn” – where is this in the rules? This has always been the case in previous editions; is it still so in 5e RAW?


    • Ronny January 17, 2016 at 7:47 am

      This is more of a House Rule. I have always played this way and I don’t find anything in the rules that would prevent it. This may depend on your players. If you have a player that is taking unfair advantage of this you may want to restrict all PCs comments to their turns. If you do, you will still need to make exceptions to allow some small conversations during combat. For instance, if a PC asks another PC a question, it will unnecessarily complicate the game to require the other PC to not answer until it is his turn.
      In my games, I always assume there is a little talk between PCs during combat to coordinate attacks, etc. I don’t require that the players actually spell out what specific words their PCs are saying, although they can when they choose to.
      What are your thoughts on this rule?


      • Igor Campelo January 30, 2016 at 12:41 pm

        PHB 190 says that speak is an activity you can take on your turn. It does not say that you can speak in another person’s turn.

        I had a player in my table that wanted to make a Contingency Spell to respond to a magic activation word. I made him expend a Reaction to do so (much like the shield spell).


      • Ronny January 31, 2016 at 9:08 am

        Officially: You do not have to use an action to speak. The line you are referring to says “You can communicate however you are able, through brief utterances and gestures, as you take your turn.” This is listed under “Other Activity On your Turn”. This seams to support your conclusion that the PC cannot speak when it is not his turn. My house rule is slightly different. I allow any character to speak at any time (within reason). This has never caused any problems at my table, but if it ever does I would then consider tightening up my house rule, or doing away with it altogether.
        However, casting a spell is not the same as speaking. I think you would be exactly right regarding any spell cast as a Readied action. Spells cast as a Readied action expend a Reaction when they are triggered. The Contingency Spell is a special case. First of all, it takes 10 minutes to cast, so it could not be cast during combat. Also Readied spells must have a casting time of 1 action. Second it uses up two spell slots, one for the contingency spell itself, and one for the spell that will activate when the triggering event occurs. I don’t think the official rules would require him to expend a Reaction to use it. But I don’t think that a House Rule that causes him to expend a Reaction when the triggering event occurs would be terribly harsh. It would, however, make the Contingency Spell much less powerful. For a 6th level spell, I don’t think I would implement that rule.
        In your player’s case – I would require him to be specific. Will it activate when anyone (other than himself) utters any magical spell, or If a specific, named, character does so, of if a specific (named) spell is activated, or in a particular place, or at a particular time? Also note that unless he cancels the spell beforehand it WILL be activated when the condition specified is met. I might treat this similar to a Wish spell in that it must be carefully worded in order for it to not “go off” at a time that was not intended. Unless the condition is very simple, have him write it down for the DM’s reference, so when you tell him that the spell activated when HE cast a spell because his conditions were unclear, you will have the note in your hand to show him. Enforce all of the requirements of the spell to the letter. Other than that, it is an excellent, mainly defensive, spell that only effects the caster so I would let the player be creative and use it any way he wishes.


  2. Jennifer Brahm February 2, 2016 at 12:11 pm

    I needed this info for a campaign we’re starting so I did a quick 1 pg (front and back) cheat sheet. Since it’s your info I used I wanted to share it with you or anyone else that might be able to use it: https://www.dropbox.com/s/lxahq2emxds2rht/D%26DCombat%20Rules.pdf?dl=0

    It should be editable in Adobe Illustrator.


  3. Pingback: D&D 5e – Combat Reference Sheet | Dungeon Master Assistance

  4. Michael Hull February 7, 2016 at 9:04 am

    In the “Cast a spell” action above under Ready and Action you mention this, “If the triggering event doesn’t occur this round, you can continue to hold the spell with continued concentration into the following round, or you can cast it as an action on your next turn, or you can lose it.” key part im referencing is the “hold the spell into the following round” part…where can i find this in the books? When i look at ready an action under action in combat, the ready action is for readying an action for the round. just curious where this section is in the book i cant find it.


  5. RSteff November 6, 2016 at 5:47 pm

    For a class assignment, I am making a pseudo online class and the topic is beginning D&D. If it is okay with you, I would like to use this post as part of the class/ assignment.


    • Ronny November 7, 2016 at 8:07 am

      Thank you for asking for permission. Yes, feel free to use anything you find here. For a class assignment, you will want to be sure you include information as to where you obtained everything that you use. Teachers frown on plagiarism.
      Just so you know – much of the information I put on this site is liberally copied from other sites and I don’t always give credit to my sources. I guess it is a matter of “do as I say, not as I do.”
      It might help to know that game rules can’t be copyrighted.
      Good luck on your assignment.


  6. Anonymous February 8, 2017 at 3:48 am

    I would not allow movement as part of the Disengage action, it allows “running away” (which I would see as Move+Dash), and not carefully moving away (Disengage to avoid attacks of opportunity + move)


    • Ronny February 8, 2017 at 8:13 am

      Thank you. I have revised the post to add that clarification.
      I don’t think I was saying anything different than you were. Perhaps you are saying it more clearly. I agree with you. When you take the Disengage action you can only move the base distance allowed by your character’s speed, basically carefully moving away.
      But, when you say “I would not allow movement as part of the Disengage action” it makes it sound like you wouldn’t allow the character to move at all. Disengage is your action which does not “include” a move, but you also get to move. A Disengage action without a move makes no sense at all. And, yes the Dash action is often used to run away but does not protect you from opportunity attacks.
      The Dash action is also often misunderstood. It is often thought of as moving at double your speed. In most cases, this is the effect but technically that is not correct. The Dash action allows you to move a distance equal to your speed. When you also move that distance you will end up moving two times your speed. I know that this sounds like a distinction without a difference but – What if you are a ranger that can use the Dash action as a bonus action? If that ranger uses the Dash action and then uses it again as a bonus action how far can he move? Many think because the dash action lets you move double your speed that if you use two dash actions you can move four times your speed. This is wrong. The answer is that he can move up to three times his speed, not four. First, he moves his speed then he dashes for that same distance again and lastly, he dashes again for that same distance a third time.


  7. Randal Brown April 26, 2017 at 8:47 am

    You have written, under the section labeled “Surprise” that:
    “If surprised, you lose your turn for the first round of combat. This includes loosing use of any reaction for one round, measured from the beginning of combat until the start of your turn on round two.”
    This is not entirely true… According to the Basic Rules:
    “If you’re surprised, you can’t move or take an action on your first turn of the combat, and you can’t take a reaction until that turn ends.” (page 69)
    There is a very subtle difference here. Basically, you cannot take an action or a bonus action on your turn if you are surprised (during the first round). You also cannot take a reaction on the first round… UNTIL YOUR TURN HAS ENDED.
    This is a subtle but important difference. If you are surprised, but your initiative roll is LOWER than your attacker, then you can not do anything about it. However, if you are surprised and your initiative roll is HIGHER than your attacker, then their attack falls AFTER your turn. Therefore, in this instance, you can use your reaction during the first round to use shield or uncanny dodge or an attack of opportunity or any other reaction that might be helpful.
    So, saying that you can not use your reaction when surprised is not entirely accurate.


    • Ronny April 26, 2017 at 9:40 am

      I think you are correct. RAW does state the rules exactly as you say. In practice, it seldom comes up. The way I worded it was to address exactly the issue you point to. The rules as written are a little ambiguous, and many people agree with you. However, I think that by “you can’t take a reaction until that turn ends” it is not talking about the first combat round, but rather about the character’s first turn, which lasts from his point in the initiative order this round until that point in the following round. My wording was an attempt to avoid the confusion and simplify the rules a little.
      Thanks for pointing this out.


  8. Pingback: D&D 5E – Quick Reference – Combat – Hommlet Heroes

  9. Fizzle August 30, 2022 at 2:26 pm

    You misunderstand the “casting a spell” part another person commented about….

    The contingency *spell* was cast prior to the turn in question and said player wanted the contingency to be a specific “spoken word” so commenter made them use their reaction.


    • Ronny August 31, 2022 at 4:33 pm

      You are right.
      I thought the player wanted to cast the Contingency Spell as a Readied Action. I don’t know why I thought that. That’s crazy. The Contingency Spell is similar to casting a spell as a reaction, but you cast it before combat and it causes a particular spell to activate when a particular thing happens. What I should have said was that I would NOT require the player to use a reaction to make that happen. When the particular magic activation word was spoken, the spell he had set up to activate with his Contingency Spell would activate.
      I would have to assume here that his PC knew what the specific magic activation word was. I wouldn’t allow it to just be “when the activation word for xyz magic item is spoken”. I would have to be more like “when someone says the word abracadabra”. I would however allow it to be along the lines of “when a wand of fireballs is activated”.
      Thank you for pointing out my mistake.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: